Over 20 Years After National Scandal, Mary Kay Letourneau and Former Student End 12-Year Marriage
In 1996, Mary Kay Letourneau and Vili Fualaau made national headlines when the news of their affair broke. She was 34 at the time, married, with four children of her own, and Fualaau was 12 years old, and one of her students at Letourneau’s Seattle-based school. Authorities were tipped off after Letourneau’s estranged husband called the police. The affair landed Letourneau in jail for six months (three of which were suspended) after pleading guilty to second degree child rape. Letourneau was also ordered to attend sex-offender treatment and banned by court order from seeing Fualaau.
She had become pregnant shortly after the affair started, and Letourneau gave birth to the couple’s first daughter in 1997 when Fualaau was just 13 years old. However, just weeks from being released that same year, Letourneau was caught having sex in a car with Faulaau, violating the terms of her plea deal. This landed Letourneau in prison for seven and a half years. When Fualaau was just 13 years old. She gave birth to their second daughter while in prison.
Despite all odds, the couple married in 2005 when she got out of prison, and he was over the age of 18. He requested a reversal of the no-contact order, and the couple had been married for 12 years. It has been recently reported that Fualaau, now 34, has filed for legal separation from Letourneau, 55.
Age of Marital Consent in Georgia
For obvious reasons, states do not allow minors to get married without parental consent. In Georgia, both applicants for a marital license must be at least 18 years of age without needing parental consent. See GA Code § 19-3-37. Parents or guardians of the minors must physically appear in front of a judge of the probate court to be able to consent to the marriage, and proof of a minor’s age must be given to the court if the minor is 16 or 17 years old. The only exceptions to the in-person appearance is if there is a written affidavit by the incapacitated parent or guardian along with an affidavit signed by a licensed attending physician attesting to an illness or infirmity that makes it impossible for them to be there.
When a marital license applicant is over the age of 18, he or she must still prove his or her age by a govnment issued document such as a birth certificate.
Gwinnett County Legal Separation and Divorce Attorney
Divorces and separations are emotionally and financially painful, no matter who you are. Gwinnett County divorce attorney David Ward is here to help you through the divorce process. Whether your divorce involves a separation, annulment, or the dissolution of a jointly owned business, the Ward Law Firm has the extensive knowledge you need. Contact us today at 770-383-1973 if you are going through a marital separation. We will walk you through your case step by step.